Gov. Palin and her awful… opinions?

In 2004, one of the arguments against re-electing George W. Bush was the fact that he employed his religious views to run the country, which, in my opinion, is a legitimate argument.  However, now the same argument is being raised against Gov. Sarah Palin.  While I wish she shared my opinions on evolution and sex-ed, I can’t fault her opinions.  She obviously has opinions that differ from mine and am happy to see that they haven’t affected her decisions as governor:

On sex-ed:

“No, I’m pro-contraception, and I think kids who may not hear about it at home should hear about it in other avenues. So I am not anti-contraception. But, yeah, abstinence is another alternative that should be discussed with kids. I don’t have a problem with that. That doesn’t scare me, so it’s something I would support also.”

On creationism:

“I don’t think there should be a prohibition against debate if it comes up in class. It doesn’t have to be part of the curriculum.”

She added that, if elected, she would not push the state Board of Education to add such creation-based alternatives to the state’s required curriculum.

Even the AP agrees: Palin has not pushed creation science as governor.  So, what’s the argument exactly? You’re supposed to vote against her because she has opinions? How… could she?

Leave a comment

Filed under Politics

Leave a Reply

